So very metamodern, the gmail "undo"

The Immediacy of Our Metamodern Digital Culture, the GMail undo!

The Immediacy of Our Metamodern Culture, the GMail undo!

In our metamodern digital culture, it’s good to know that the GMail “undo” exists.   Many ideas and actions rely upon another’s original action.  Sometimes we react in a favorable way, sometimes we over-react, sometime our fingers type faster than our minds, and sometimes we forget to include all that is necessary.

One aspect of today’s ability to communicate and to react is the simple fact that we are digitally oriented and able to communicate globally at the speed of light.  There is no such thing as time constraints or physical boundaries.  If we think it, we can implement it; if we write it, we can send it.

Such is the way with the our email systems. We can send an email through our company dot com and have it sit on the server for a brief time to review or to even send in bulk, and to also retrieve it from the server.  There is also the option to leave it on the server until we retrieve it or until the spy in the office reads all of our emails, deletes that which they don’t want you to see leaves the others on the server, or until the spy reads it and leaves it there for you to download onto your workstation of choice. With the mass mail servers such as gmail, and others, it is slightly different. The email name may belong to the person who set up the account, but the email account owner has no access to the server, therefore only allowing the email named recipient to access the account, but not the server.

Now, in our metamodern era, consistent with the ability for agility, gmail has made and “undo” button.

Yes, it is now possible, to stop and think about what you are sending and to stop the email, gmail from continuing along its path to the recipient.  A welcome idea if you have written something you shouldn’t be sending , or if you have forgotten an item, or made and extreme typo or spelling error, within your correspondence.

Gmail undo:

If you make a typo or regret sending a message, you can undo the action by enabling the “Undo send” lab. This lab will give you the option to take back a message you just sent.

To enable the lab:

  1. Click the gear in the top right .
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Click the Labs
  4. Find the “Undo Send” lab and select the Enableradio button.
  5. Click Save Changesat the bottom of the page.

Select the amount of time you have to undo sending a message by clicking the gear icon , and finding the “Undo Send:” section in the General tab of your Settings.

Remember to read, reread, don’t act out of anger, spell check and maybe even make a habit of not sending for 5 minutes until you are able to reread with a fresh eye. Yet, in our digitally expressly delivered metamodern world, it’s nice to know that we have the slightest window of an option, even if it is only in our gmail as an undo feature.